Louisiana DOTD's Home Page Louisiana DOTD's Home Page
Louisiana Regulations for Trucks, Vehicles and Loads

 

    History Back

 

  ADDENDUM


Overweight Permit Fee Schedules
FIRST OVERWEIGHT PERMIT FEE SCHEDULE
This schedule is for three (3) types of vehicles:

Vehicles and combinations of vehicles which do not exceed their legal gross weight, but do exceed the legal axle weight on one to three (1 to 3) axles or axle groups* (including steering axles).

Vehicles or combinations of vehicles which have two or three (2 or 3) axles**total and which exceed both their legal gross weight and legal axle weight.

All two-to-four (2 to 4) axle** off-road equipment.
EXCESS WEIGHT (in pounds)
DISTANCE (in miles)
0-50
51-100
101-150
151-200
Over 200
0-10,000
$20.00
$30.00
$35.00
$45.00
$55.00
10,001-20,000
35.00
65.00
90.00
115.00
140.00
20,001-30,000
55.00
100.00
140.00
185.00
230.00
30,001-40,000
70.00
135.00
195.00
255.00
315.00
40,001-50,000
90.00
170.00
245.00
325.00
405.00
50,001-60,000
105.00
205.00
300.00
395.00
490.00
Over 60,000
$10.00 plus $0.07 per ton-mile
* Axle groups are tandem, tridum, and quadrum axles.
**“Axle” here refers to single or individual axles. Tandem groups will be counted as two (2) axles
and tridum axle groups as three (3) axles.
SECOND OVERWEIGHT PERMIT FEE SCHEDULE
This schedule is for combinations of vehicles with four axles* (including the steering axle).
GROSS WEIGHT
(in pounds)
DISTANCE (in miles)
0-50
51-100
101-150
151-200
Over 200
66,001-80,000
$20.00
$35.00
$45.00
$60.00
$70.00
80,001-90,000
45.00
75.00
110.00
145.00
175.00
*”Axle” here refers to single or individual axles. Tandem axle groups will be counted as two (2) axles and tridum axle groups as three (3) axles.
THIRD OVERWEIGHT PERMIT FEE SCHEDULE
This schedule is for combinations of vehicles with five (5) or more axles* (including the steering axle) when the gross weight exceeds 80,000 pounds.
GROSS WEIGHT (in pounds)
DISTANCE (in miles)
0-50
51-100
101-150
151-200
Over 200
80,000-100,000
$30.00
$45.00
$65.00
$80.00
$100.00
100,001-108,000
50.00
95.00
135.00
180.00
220.00
108,001-120,000
70.00
130.00
190.00
250.00
310.00
120,001-132,000
90.00
170.00
250.00
330.00
415.00
132,001-152,000
120.00
225.00
335.00
445.00
555.00
152,001-172,000
155.00
295.00
440.00
585.00
730.00
172,001-192,000
190.00
365.00
545.00
725.00
905.00
192,001-212,000
225.00
435.00
650.00
865.00
1080.00
212,001-232,000
260.00
505.00
755.00
1005.00
1250.00
232,001-254,000
295.00
575.00
860.00
1145.00
1420.00
Over 254,000
$10.00 - plus $0.50 per ton-mile in excess of 80,000 pounds, plus a fee for structural evaluation based on the following schedule:
$125.00 – for evaluation of treated timber, concrete slab, and precast concrete slab bridges.
$850.00 – for evaluation of truss, continuous span , and movable bridges and for all Mississippi River structures.
$500.00 – for all other structures.
“Axle” here refers to single or individual axles Tandem axle groups will be counted as two (2) axles and tridum axle groups as three (3) axles.

    …………………………………………………………………………………………………………
Notwithstanding any other provisions of law to the contrary, any combination vehicle with a gross weight greater than 120,000 pounds, but not in excess of 254,000 pounds shall be authorized a maximum tandem axle weight of 45,000 pounds and a maximum steering axle weight of 13,000 pounds, provided the spread between axle groups is a minimum of 12 feet and the spread between tires in a group is a minimum of 4 feet.

Note: Loads exceeding 232,000 pounds, but not greater than 254,000 pounds, shall be allowed statewide movement on the Department of Transportation & Development selected and approved routes, the majority of which are interstate highways only. However, those portions of their route from the load’s origin to the National Highway System and that portion from the National Highway System to the destination shall be subject to the structural evaluation provided for in this schedule.